A (Hopefully Eloquent Yet Concise) Thought on Hunt For the Wilderpeople

Note:I thought I’d publish this first paragraph of my review of Hunt For the Wilderpeople. Please tell me what you think, if I should elaborate on some points (because I know I should, I just don’t know what yet). Your feedback is important. Let me know in the comments below!

First off, I can say that I really enjoyed Hunt for the Wilderpeople. It managed to be funny, heartfelt and dramatic at the same time (leaning more towards funny, of course.) The only real thing I have against it is that the skeleton of the plot seems almost a bit too much like Pixar’s Up, but two say that the two are the same would be like saying that apples and pears are the same. Really, Wilderpeople is too original and unique to be put into an Up-for-older-people box. Yes, this is a PG-13 rated comedy, but I would say that, save for a few violent parts and some mature themes, it could pass almost pass as family-friendly. No, I don’t mean that your 9-year-old should watch it or will enjoy it, but your fifteen-year-old might.

 

Leave a Reply

