A Quick Thought on Whiskey Tango Foxtrot

I just recently watched Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, and in short, I like it. There was great acting all around, a generally light tone, and fast pacing still came together with (what I would think is) an setting that’s authentic to the story and believable character development.

However, one thing I don’t like about it (which accounts for a number of problems) is that even though the aforementioned fast pacing helps trim the narrative “fat”, it also manages to cut off some of the “meat” as well. **SPOILERS** When Martin Freeman’s character Iain gets kidnapped, for some reason I knew that he would be alright, mostly because the movie’s tone is surprisingly light as some times. On top of that, the fast pacig of the movie meant that Kim Baker (Tina Fey) was zipping between the east and west within seconds.

However, whenever Whiskey Tango Foxtrot’s quick pacing wasn’t making me think “WTF?” it all came together as concise. And the light heartedness also made things easier to handle, even if it sometimes did compromise tone.

So that’s all I have to say. I’m sorry this isn’t a fully fleshed-out review, maybe once I start taking notes when I watch movies I’ll get around to it.If you have anything else to say, your own opinions, questions, comments, please leave them in the comment section below.

Leave a Reply

