YOU ARE NOT THE TARGET AUDIENCE, AND THAT’S OKAY- What Gone Home & Lego Star Wars have in common

I’ll admit, I haven’t finished Gone Home, I just couldn’t. It was set in a beautifully realistic house along with a haunting soundtrack that when put together made for a chilling environment. However, I was only able to handle so much of the story before I just got creeped out- being a straight, right-leaning male, Gone Home’s story of queer diary-style thought-jotting missed my demographic by a mile. I didn’t like it, but it wasn’t for me in the first place.

Don’t get me wrong, it was well done, really well done, It’s just that about 20 minutes into the game, I was listening to something I wouldn’t normally catch myself listening to (unless it was a Playstation Plus game I knew nothing about). Where others might have enjoyed the “intimate” and “human” feel of Gone Home’s story, it just felt “weird” and “wrong” to me. On the upside, however, I did have a lot of fun putting a bottle of cola in a microwave for no reason at all, but that was that.

On a completely different note, I’d like to bring up Lego games, which I played a TON during my childhood. Ever since playing them at friends’ houses, and then getting my own, I had a blast playing them. Of course, like all good things, this came to an end, as I gradually ended up playing more mature and complex games, I eventually ended up trading them in for credit towards a shiny new PS4.

However, that wasn’t the end of my time with Lego games. Years later, my little cousin came over for the holidays, and me, wanting to be the best big cousin in the whole wide world, bought Lego Star Wars: The Force Awakens. We had lots of fun playing it together. Then he left. A little while later, I picked it up and played it. I enjoyed it for a couple of minutes, but then, having already completed the main campaign, I became bored with the simple grinding and played something else.

Really, one of the main reasons why I suddenly didn’t enjoy it so much was simply because I wasn’t a 7-13-year-old who enjoyed simple gameplay and puzzle-solving with a fun Lego Star Wars theme. I wasn’t the target audience. Similarly, I didn’t enjoy Gone Home because I wasn’t a liberal-minded 15-20something-year-old who could appreciate or relate to the story that Gone Home had to offer. But do you know what? That’s totally fine.

The one thing I hope I never catch myself doing, and I wouldn’t recommend doing, is forcing myself to like something because everyone else does. Yes, I did just conclude this post with a seemingly regurgitated message of nonconformity (ooh, big words), but I’m serious.You shouldn’t count on everyone’s opinion being like yours and vice-versa. Don’t worry if you don’t like the latest critically-acclaimed video game, movie, tv show or comic; that’s just you. It’s fine to use popular opinion as a guideline, but don’t use it as a way of life.

Leave a Reply

